New to Mentalism

Mar 12, 2013
Long story short, I ended up with the book 13 Steps to Mentalism by Corinda. I have never studied mentalism, so I was wondering if this book was a good place to start or if there was some other book in mentalism comparable to RRTCM. Thanks!

Aug 25, 2012
This is the best place to start I have been studying mentalism for a few months now, in 13 steps you will learn the basics and everything you need for just starting out. This book will introduce you to more advanced routines: Living and dead, name a number/name. You will also learn about swami gimmicks which are very useful! I don't want to say outdated but most mentalism is centered around billets, personally I love my swami. So I guess to answer your question YES this is the perfect place to start. If you have any questions please pm me for help!

Sep 1, 2007
I refer you to my old blog and this post in particular. Corinda is a great resource, but too many magicians buy it still thinking like magicians. They want the tricks, the secrets. They don't really learn about the performance theory or the presentation of mentalism. I put together that beginner's guide to help with that.

Mar 12, 2013
Thanks to both of you for your replies. Steerpike, I read your blog and really enjoyed it. I do agree that Corinda's book does have hefty amount of information and would definitely lead to overload. I'm going to grab a copy of Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic. I think this will be a great help as I have previously only concentrated on card magic. Thanks again guys!

Sep 1, 2007
I think this will be a great help as I have previously only concentrated on card magic.

Oh dear. Yes, that needs to be taken care of soon.