Questions on Karl Fulves Self-Working Card Tricks

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 26, 2016
Hello!

While I am studying the sleights of the royal road to card magic book, I would like to study self-working card tricks also. I have been searching magic forums regarding recommendations on books on self-working card tricks. People recommended Scarne on Card Tricks, Card College Light, Lighter and Lightest, Karl Fulves Self-Working Card Tricks etc.

I decided that I would like to buy one of Karl Fulves Self-Working Card Tricks book because I do not have much money. I have 2 questions:

1. There are several books of Karl Fulves Self-Working Card Tricks. Can anyone describe the differences, which would they recommend and why?

2. https://www.amazon.com/Self-Working...5360&sr=1-1&keywords=self+working+card+tricks. Is this the cheapest self-working card tricks book available online?

Thank you so much!

- Alex -

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
I'll start off by saying that I love Scarne on Card Tricks and think that is the best value. It may be that Scarne's book was one of the first books I got and I still perform effects from it.

Karl Fulves work is wonderful - both the published self working stuff to the rare manuscripts on riffle stacking. The difference between the books is the effects contained in the books. I have Self-Working Card Tricks (around $6) and Foolproof Card Tricks (which contains the books New Self Working Card Tricks and More Self Working Card Tricks) (around $11, I'm not sure why the price on Amazon is like $35). Both are very good.

Get the book you are looking at. You won't be disappointed.

Jun 26, 2016
I'll start off by saying that I love Scarne on Card Tricks and think that is the best value. It may be that Scarne's book was one of the first books I got and I still perform effects from it.