An Introduction To Card Magic

Dec 3, 2017
Hi Everyone,

I am very new to card magic. I am 16 and I started card magic about a month ago. I was always fascinated by magic as a kid and would love some help from people with experience on this forum. I am getting "The Royal Road to Card Magic" I am also looking heavily into getting "The Expert at the Card Table" and "Expert Card Technique". I would love some advice as to what other books I should purchase. Also if there is anything else that I should pick up to get my magic hobby off to a good start. I also share a love for history and didn't know if there were any threads for the history of card magic or other articles online where I could learn more. I would appreciate any help you would have for someone starting with card magic. I am excited to become apart of this great community!

Reactions: Gabriel Z.
Jul 26, 2016
Quinn,

That is great! I would advise working your way through the Royal Road to Card magic first, which will give you the fundamentals and some great tricks, as well, and wait until later for the other two books which are more advanced. Enjoy the Royal journey!

Reactions: Quinn22101

CaseyRudd

Director of Operations
Team member
Jun 5, 2009
Charleston, SC
www.instagram.com
Welcome to theory11, Quinn. Great to have you here!

My personal recommendation when starting to learn card magic is to really familiarize yourself with the basic fundamental sleights, as well as a few easy-to-learn self-working card tricks and effects that involve the absolute minimum amount of basic sleights. This is mainly to get your confidence up with handling a deck of cards before you start performing for others, and so you have a good amount of knowledge to take with you when you get into the more intermediate techniques and the effects that go along with it. Here is a list of my favorite books and videos to get you started and so you have a killer arsenal out of the gate.

Books:
Card College Vol 1 & 2 by Roberto Giobbi