Practicing in public spaces

Dec 1, 2017
Hello,

I am a relatively new hobbyist and was wondering about the "ethics" (for lack of a better word) of practicing moves / skills in public spaces.

I have a long comute to work and love the idea of using that time to practice some things but at the same time I am concerned about exposing laymen to some of the moves involved in card magic.

Thoughts?

Antonio Diavolo

Elite Member
Jan 2, 2016
California
Hello,

I am a relatively new hobbyist and was wondering about the "ethics" (for lack of a better word) of practicing moves / skills in public spaces.

I have a long comute to work and love the idea of using that time to practice some things but at the same time I am concerned about exposing laymen to some of the moves involved in card magic.

Thoughts?
No one will really realize what you're doing if you practice sleights in public. I do it all the time. You likely wouldn't be really exposing anything as no one would know what you're doing and what it can be used for. If they see you fiddling with cards, they might ask if you're a magician.

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
I don't think it's an ethical issue at all. Theatrical, maybe, but not ethics.

I personally do not practice moves in public. If you are a performer, and you're out in public, you're not practicing, you're performing (possibly poorly). Most people will ignore you, yes. Probably no one will think more than, "Huh, that guy's messing with cards. Wonder if he's a magician." However, there will be those that watch. And if you do the same sleight 8 times in a row, you're exposing that sleight to them, unless you do it perfectly every time.