New to magic. Please help

Jan 11, 2018
Hello, my name is Jose, I am new in magic. I learned couple of card tricks (really basic) but I really enjoyed performing them to my friends and family. I was wondering if someone could please point me in the right direction.
I want to start reading and learning about card tricks. Can someone please tell me the name of a good book (my first magic book). Now that most of you have experience, if you can go back when you started what book will you recommend as first book? I am sure someone already asked this question but can not find it in the forum.

Thank you so much in advance.
Jose

Jan 11, 2018
Royal Road to Card Magic
Card College

Have fun and welcome to the forums. Cheers!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give me an advice. I really appreciate. And thank you for the welcome. Hopefully once I get experience ( couple of years) I can help people as well.

Reactions: CWhite

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
That depends on one factor - how much money do you want to spend?

For around $10 USD you can get the book I started with - Royal Road to Card Magic by Hugard and Braue. It covers the basics, gives some good tricks (I still do at least one to this day), and it gives you an idea of how to learn from magic books. I spent 8 months studying that book and nothing else.

That being said, if I were as comfortable as I am now, I would get Vol 1 & 2 of Card College instead of the 8 or so books I ended up going through at the time. That's significantly more than $10 though.

Jan 11, 2018
That depends on one factor - how much money do you want to spend?

For around $10 USD you can get the book I started with - Royal Road to Card Magic by Hugard and Braue. It covers the basics, gives some good tricks (I still do at least one to this day), and it gives you an idea of how to learn from magic books. I spent 8 months studying that book and nothing else.