New and Need Help/Guidance

May 17, 2018
Hello everyone,
I don't know if this is the right place to ask about this but anyways, I am new to this world of magic and is particularly interested in card magics. I am very determined to improve thus the reason I am reading the Card College book which I heard is good for beginners like myself. As for my problem, I seem to have hit a block and don't know what to do. I am not able to spread my cards properly at the moment so I am wondering if I should master it first or move on. I am 15 years old and I wonder if my small hands are the reason. If it really is how long of a spread should I aim for?

Thank you

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
Without looking at the book to see how Roberto teaches it, you should be able to spread through the whole deck with six to eight cards being exposed at any time.

If you want to post a video or send a link to me in a message, I can see if you are doing anything incorrectly. Your hand size should not make a difference.

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
Hello everyone,
I don't know if this is the right place to ask about this but anyways, I am new to this world of magic and is particularly interested in card magics. I am very determined to improve thus the reason I am reading the Card College book which I heard is good for beginners like myself. As for my problem, I seem to have hit a block and don't know what to do. I am not able to spread my cards properly at the moment so I am wondering if I should master it first or move on. I am 15 years old and I wonder if my small hands are the reason. If it really is how long of a spread should I aim for?

Thank you

2 common problems. Wrong cards, wrong surface.

You need to purchase a deck with an air cushion finish and it needs to be in good shape, or even new. Old and cheap cards clump, even pros can't spread em right.

The surface needs to be soft, not hard or slick. Carpet, a sofa, a bed or table cloth will help.