Best beginner book for Mentalism?

Sep 25, 2018
Hi All,

I have been doing magic for about 4 months now, specifically card magic. However, I’d like to get more into mentalism, as I feel like those tricks get some of the best reactions. So I was wondering which Mentalism book you guys would recommend as a starting point to get into this form of magic?

Reactions: Theorist19

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
First - stop thinking of them as tricks. You will not get the reactions you are expecting if you treat them like a magician doing a trick.

Check out Bob Cassidy's Fundamentals.

Sep 25, 2018
First - stop thinking of them as tricks. You will not get the reactions you are expecting if you treat them like a magician doing a trick.

My bad, that was not my intended message. It is simply the word I am used to using, not the way I intend to use effects:)

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
My favorite book for beginners is Prism by Max Maven. There is a wide variety of mentalism effects in the book and a good portion of the effects provided are of a professional caliber. You do need some knowledge of magic in general for reference but this book is a solid collection for those who are new to mentalism.

Dec 1, 2012
TX
www.youtube.com
PRISM (Mentioned above) is great

I liked the Psychological Subtleties series from Banacheck - there are 3 volumes and present very easy to accomplish tricks.

Those books should be on every mentalist book shelf, but they also start at $45 and go up from there.

Practical Mental Magic from Theodore Annemann is going to be your MOST AFFORDABLE ($14) but the language is going to be much older and several of the tricks won't be possible due to living in the 20th century.

A total beginner book just to get your feet wet with very little cost investment would be Self Working Mental Magic by Karl Fulves it's $9 on Amazon right now.

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey

Best starting point.