Beginner

Sep 29, 2007
Hey Everyone,
I'm a beginner at magic and know some tricks (Saw, King Rising, Healed & Sealed, Panic, Indecent, and some card flourishes). I wanted to know if there are any tricks that aren't really gimmicked that are good to learn for a beginner and are somewhat easy too. Something I may be able to be surrounded while performing, and that doesn't necessarily have to do with cards, I'm not that great when it comes to card tricks. Thanks.

-Jon

Jan 27, 2008
Well, Stigmata is a GREAT trick. That's like the only E-trick I ever perform.

I'd recommend that you'd get yourself some books. For card magic, I'd highly recommend that you'd get Card College for just too many reasons not ever worth explaining. (TONS of illustrations in that series...)

Oh make sure you get two bricks of Black Ghost decks when they come out and shell out your the majority of your savings for Stained Skin and all of the tatoos, too.... :p

..:Z:..

I'd say "The Best Card Trick in the World", its on youtube and you can see it performed (please don't watch a tutorial on youtube though, you can probably figure it out) Its great if performed flawlessly and very easy to do.

Also I'd say 2 Card Monte, not 100% easy (each version pretty much has a tricky or split second misdirection needed) but it's classic and blows people away.

Also find a sandwich effect to perform (I loved D+M's Cameo though the third part is a bit difficult).

These are just some simple but great tricks. I don't own many dvd's, only 2 by E so what I've learned was by figuring out by watching or just playing around with a deck and making something up (though it probably isn't original)

Oh and to just throw this out, learn how to palm well, you can do so much by doing so.

Well hope this helps and you perform some of these.

~PaCo

Jan 18, 2008
memphis,tn