Where to look....

Hey, everybody! I've been performing street magic for about 10 years now, and i'm trying get on stage, but nobody seems to want to book a fifteen year old magician. I've prayed for a school talent show, but my school hasn't had one for two years. Any ideas of where I could start? Thanks!

Sep 4, 2007
Utah
If you are good enough to be on stage i don't think it's an issue of wanting to hire you but being able to hire a 15 year old. Many states prohibit hiring that young. As far as where to start, I'm sorry I have no idea. Maybe outside restaurants. Your age is going to hurt ya for at least until your next birthday. Goodluck man.

Your town's downtown area, at carnivals, fairs, outdoor concerts, on busy streets, while waiting in a doctor's office, while standing in line.

You'll find that wherever you go, very few people won't be interested in seeing your magic.

Sep 2, 2007
There's an excellent post by Steve Simmons, http://forums.theory11.com/showthread.php?t=943, here's a piece of it that might help:

So…how exactly do you get more events planned, and start booking more gigs? Well, you start finding them.

Well...how do you do that?

1. Sub-contracting. Call up some local places that could use a magician, or where people go to for parties. Maybe a party store, arts and crafts store, etc. Talk with the owner and try to get permission to put some business cards/flyers around their store. A party store would be perfect IMO. People going there to get some stuff for their son's b-day party, and bam! An advertisement for a magician right there. Perfect! It might be more last-minute gigs (as people pick that sort of stuff up only a couple days before), but still a gig none the less.