My views on the Cardistry/Flourishing scene

May 23, 2008
England
Below is a short essay I compiled on my thoughts and views of the cardistry/flourishing scene. As it is a large area to cover in one essay I will represent my thoughts/findings in readable instalments, beginning with "one".

Topics covered

Beginners
TheCuso.info
The Evolution of Cardistry/Flourishing

In the beginning....

I find that when you are embarking on some new discovery e.g. flourishing you will require a lot of sound guidence and advice.
There is really no beginner's forums, a place for all beginners to share and help each other progress to a reasonable standard in flourishing. Not a forum full of free tutorials, but a safe haven are those not ready to join a cardistry forum. Also where advice is free and given with a smile.

I found when I was a beginner there was three main stock replies I got given, one was extreme beginners, the trilogy and the system, after that ensued a debate about which was hardest and more ideal for beginners. The first major pitfall of this I see is that when beginning a new hobby or whatever you might be doing/choosing flourishing for, you don’t want to be 80 - 120 dollars/40 - 60 pounds on something that you might not enjoy or pursue. Also the Trilogy and Extreme Beginners styles are very different, I might have a different perception of what looks visually pleasing or visually off putting.

"And finally what do you think of TheCuso.info?"

"Umm....Err....Welllll....."

I believe the Cuso blog is not helping the cardistry/flourishing scene at all. Because.....

1. I think the Cuso set up the blog in the hope of promoting himself and getting his name known and heard in and around forums and video sharing networks. It is also in a way self advertising and promoting his name. Which I fundamentally think won’t help the flourishing scene at all.