Getting Started in Pickpocketing?

May 3, 2008
I've been performing magic for a few years now and pickpocketing has always really interested me. I've been meaning to get into it but I don't know where to learn other than YouTube videos which I try to avoid.

Well seeing all of Apollo's other videos got me reminded about this again so I figured i'd ask you guys for some help

So does anyone have any advice for me to get started in pickpocketing?

Last edited by a moderator:
Sep 2, 2007
Visalia, CA
I tried learning pickpocketing a long time ago (never got good at it) but I was really good at taking cellphones that were in front of people. Lets say the person would be sitting down on a table and have their wallet or cellphone there. I would be able to misdirect for second (usually by trying to find a card (by throwing it out the deck) yet I would usually throw it to far out causing me to lean over the table and get the object while tried horrible to pick up the signed card) from there I would just sleeve it and produce after a trick or two.

So my best advice off of this little story is learn misdirection, give meaning to the moment your going to steal someone. Ex: shaking their hand to steal a watch. Most importantly stay calm and don't act out of character especial during and after the steal. Make sure to practice in front of friends and family (don't want to get caught messing up:D)

If this ends up being an obsession for you, buy a manikin and dress them up and practice stealing from them.

Aug 10, 2008
In a rock concert
I've been performing magic for a few years now and pickpocketing has always really interested me. I've been meaning to get into it but I don't know where to learn other than YouTube videos which I try to avoid.

Well seeing all of Apollo's other videos got me reminded about this again so I figured i'd ask you guys for some help

So does anyone have any advice for me to get started in pickpocketing?