The Vortex Deck

The Vortex Deck + Teaser Trailer

I have a trailer for the cards up on YouTube, check it out:
¬¬¬ CLICK HERE ¬¬¬

I decided to have a go at designing a deck. I have a concept for jokers in mind, which I want to hand draw and then give them this digital space theme; gotta get em done now though.

http://fc04.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2011/023/d/8/vortex_playing_cards_by_br4xis-d37wzfm.png

Obviously I made everything you see here haha. Just wondering what you guys think.

I don't post here as much as I should so just pointing out that I am an artist and a card collector. I do flourishing and magic but not even close to as great as you folks here.

Also, if anyone want's to throw a few thousand dollars at me let me know, so I print these. I'll pay you back in smiles! :)

Last edited by a moderator:

JD

Jul 5, 2009
Longview, Texas
My god. Wicked. I have one issue. Take out the green ball on the spades and it is pure badassery. And what program do you use for your digital artwork like that?

Sep 6, 2010
I would prefer the ace of spade pips in the index to be black and not blue. it would look better IMO

My god. Wicked. I have one issue. Take out the green ball on the spades and it is pure badassery. And what program do you use for your digital artwork like that?

Thank you. I have heard mixed feelings about the "ball" on the Ace of Spades. So far a lot of people love it so it'll stay. However I will probably fade it a bit more, and add more to the ace to keep the ball from being the primary focal point. I do however think it adds to the alien look I was going for. I use Photoshop CS5 as it integrates vector graphics needed to do illustration. :)

@Ben: You are correct. They were blue because the Ace was originally blue and I was honestly too lazy to change them before I posted the concept. This is just a rough draft. Currently the cards have black club/spade pips. :)

Dec 6, 2010