Complete beginner - where to start?

Sep 16, 2011
Leeds, UK
Hi, I'm very new to this, only signing up today. I want to learn bits of close up magic, but have no idea where to start? Any advice here on where to start would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Jan 10, 2009
University Park PA
Welcome to the forums!
I would recommend getting Mark Wilson's complete course in magic. You can find it in some large bookstores(I don't know about stores in the UK), or online. (Amazon has it for 10 Euros). It teaches a lot of good basics. Another thing would be to figure out whether you like cards or coins or other. Put in a lot of practice on the basic sleights, and then you can expand to more technical stuff.

Feb 7, 2011
Welcome to the forums!

Die hard's will say your local library. Young fanatics will say ellusionist, theory 11 and penguin. They're both right. Once you get in the Swing of things you will learn magic from all sources and realise they all have their pro's and cons. Ill say, Mark wilson's complete course in magic. It's a great starting point, and it's cheap. Head to your local library and see if they have any books, once you decide what types of magic you would like to perform, you can progress to the downloads or more books. I wont point you towards downloads today because for the price of most downloads you can buy mark wilsons book! Also, if you were to buy the latest card trick released on your first day in magic, you might find that cards just aren't your thing. Learn something from each type of magic with the help of that book. You'll learn very quickly what is for you and what isn't. The forums will help you in every way you can imagine.

Good luck!

Sep 16, 2011
Leeds, UK
Thanks guys. I'll have a look for that book in the library tomorrow, if not I'll look to buy it online.