Brand new to magic

Ubi

Oct 5, 2015
I am totally new to magic, I want to start from the basics, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a book I could use to help it would be massively appreciated!

Mar 27, 2011
Hey I'm new too! Here is my recommendation for card magic. I've been working through the Royal Road to Card Magic by Jean Hugard and Fredrick Braue and also Card College Volume 1 by Roberto Giobbi. Royal Road is an older book and the language used is a little old fashioned, but the magic itself is still foundational. Additionally you can usually find it for about $10. Card College is a little more modern and also a bit more expensive (around $35). Both books have companion DVD's (I recommend Paul Wilson's for RRTCM).

While I"m sure many people have their preference, I don't think you can go wrong with either one. I did a ton of research to try and find the best way to start out and both of these books had such great praise I just decided to go with both of them. As much of the material overlaps, it is often helpful to read about a sleight in both books and then find what works best for me. Here is a helpful article about what to read as you progress in card magic (http://dananddave.com/learn/articles/a-brief-education-in-card-magic/).

I don't have any experience with any of the other genres of magic, but hopefully this helps if you are interested in card magic. Good luck! :)

Reactions: Ubi

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic. It seems a little dated and a little basic with the illustrations, but it actually has a lot of strong magic and covers all the basics. Joshua Jay's Magic the Complete Course is little more updated with some fun routines.

For cards, Royal Road is an inexpensive starting point also get Encyclopedia of Card Tricks. Card College is better but more expensive. Card College Light (Lighter and Lightest) are great for self-working. For coins, get Bobo's Modern Coin Magic.