New to card Magic - Learn all use some?

Jul 28, 2017
Couldn't really think of a better way of titling this post!

I am a beginner card magician. I am about 2 months in and loving it. I used to do juggling when I was a bit younger, and play the drums, guitar etc and love hand and arm dexterity things. I am also very much a fidgiter. Always doing something with my hands. Don't know why I didn't start learning this sooner.

Anyway I just have a few questions and hope I can get some honest answers and suggestions perhaps.

I have never actually had a card trick performed to me before, ever so I come at magic from this weird perspective I guess but I love learning this stuff.

So anyway so far I have learned / am still developing.

Overhand false shuffles (Injog, Retention, Milk Shuffle, etc) Double undercut from breaks. Double over-cut / swing cut to a break. (I didn't know the name so just thought of it as a similar result to the double undercut but from the top down instead. False Cuts. False riffle shuffle. Mahatma overhand Shuffle from a break. But I am also developing my clipshift and initial holding of card to bottom using a similar clipshift feel. And so far the clipshift and bottom sort of variation althought have taken me a week or 2 to get comfortable with feel the better options than using double undercuts and swing cuts and breaks.

So I guess my question is. Why not just get the selected card to the top , bottom or where you need it straight away without the spectator noticing and work from there? Do any of you do this.

I can appreciate it is a matter of circumstance because these won't work in every situation. Either way I am going to learn all I can and get as good as I can in as much as I can because that is the fun of it.

I hope this doesn't come off sounding insulting or anything like that I am just curious.