Looking for Tips to Improve

Jan 20, 2018
Hey everyone, I'm Gambit, a magician who specializes in cards.

I've been doing magic off and on for the past 8 years and am looking for any tips to improve my skills. Keep in mind I'm still on the young side, so saying stuff like "Try Doing Bar Tricks" doesn't help me very much.

One of my main problems is that being still a teenager I have problems getting good reactions from adults. I tend to get the vibe that they view my skills as childish, regardless of the level of effort or sophistication I add to my performances. My goal with magic is to entertain, and I'm starting to get annoyed that the only audience that takes me seriously are 5-12 year olds (fellow teenagers aren't interested.)

Any tips are welcome, thanks in advance!

~Gambit

Jan 2, 2016
California

I've been doing magic off and on for the past 8 years and am looking for any tips to improve my skills. Keep in mind I'm still on the young side, so saying stuff like "Try Doing Bar Tricks" doesn't help me very much.

One of my main problems is that being still a teenager I have problems getting good reactions from adults. I tend to get the vibe that they view my skills as childish, regardless of the level of effort or sophistication I add to my performances. My goal with magic is to entertain, and I'm starting to get annoyed that the only audience that takes me seriously are 5-12 year olds (fellow teenagers aren't interested.)

~Gambit
Well how do you present your tricks exactly? Sometimes all it takes is a reworking of your presentation.

Jan 20, 2018
But what is your presentation like? Walk us through what you would say for a trick or a routine.

Also, I'm liking the X-Men pic :)
The X-Men pic is intentional, glad you like it. :D

Example presentation for my favorite trick that involves showing two cards, placing those card in their hands and teleporting them into my hands:

"Hi there, would you care to see a quick card trick?"