Border or Borderless for Double lifting?

Jun 25, 2018
Good mourning, evening, night fellows wherever you are. Im new to magic about 2 months old. Now i know a double lift can be performed on both but as a beginner what would be better suited as a practice on spectators? now i played with both and i found borderless to be a lot harder since even the slightest movement can ruin it due to the patterns, is that normal or just a beginners thing? thank you all for your time.

Sep 10, 2017
If you use something with smaller patterns like a bee deck, double lifts are much simpler for a beginner. But honestly, if you put the time and effort to learn a push off or a pinky count, it wont make a difference wether you use a borderless deck or not.
I personally find a borderless deck more difficult to use for certain sleights, while for table work and false deals and ..., it is always better to use a borderless deck.

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
It's easier to do some things with borders, and other things without them. But if one masters the techniques, it doesn't matter. Watch folks like Ricky Jay or Shade. Flawless technique regardless of deck design.

Reactions: HasanA1
Jun 25, 2018
Yeah i figured it will need practice but i found the answer i wanted. I like the borders for now at least to practice while performing but hopefully i can start getting into a position where i dont need then by time. thanks alot guys cheers!

Aug 15, 2017
Good mourning

:'(

what would be better suited as a practice on spectators? now i played with both and i found borderless to be a lot harder since even the slightest movement can