A connection...

JD

Jul 5, 2009
Longview, Texas
I don't want this thread to turn into a bash thread. I was on myspace which I haven't checked in forever and when I made my myspace I added Criss Angel as friend. Well today he posted a bulletin that season six comes on in august. I started reading the comments and I realized that if I could even halfway connect with people like he does I'd feel like I accomplished what I've been trying to do. It's easy to show someone a magic trick and it be over with. But to show someone something and instill a belief in them is entirely different. I do wish that when I start performing in public I can do just that. *I've been doing magic for 4 years and have performed at school maybe 5 times.* I just hope to be able to connect on people as it seems he does.

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
I've found that connecting to the audience is -the- -key- to a good performance. The tricks I perform usually are pretty simple. An inversion plot, Chicago Opener, ACR. But I talk to my audience, I treat them like real people. Because of that, I think, I'm recognized just walking along the street when I'm at the Farmer's Market I perform at.

Connecting can be tricky, but for me, it's just a matter of talking to them. As I say, "Don't perform AT them, perform FOR them."

JD

Jul 5, 2009
Longview, Texas
Well the reason I've performed only 5 times is because I have a really dumb mindset to where I think I don't do things good enough and people will figure me out because I'm not doing the effects perfectly. :( I want to connect and think I can.

Nov 15, 2007
Raleigh, NC
But I talk to my audience, I treat them like real people.

Are they not real people? No need to respond, I know what you mean. A lot of magician's ignore their audiences completely and marvel at the lack of response they get in return.