Backyard Cardistry

Apr 22, 2015
Hey all! I am just here to ask of a quick favor from anyway who wishes to help me out. I have just posted my first cardistry video on my YouTube channel, and I would love it if one of you were to head on over and maybe even offer some help or even some criticism as to how I could improve the videos. Or maybe even let me know of something that I did well. Please do forgive me as I am fairly new at making videos, and editing. it is quite hard, and would just appreciate if anyone were to just help me out. That is all, thank you!

Here is the link:

Reactions: ChristopherR2
May 24, 2015
Overall it's a very good start and it inspires me to even push harder to the point when I'm ready to cut my first video.

Your moves are on point, style of music fit your video, and the video cuts were done well.

Now for the criticisms. I would pick a shirt that showcases and offers a clear contrast to your cards. The shirt you were wearing was very distracting and it was hard to follow your moves at points in the video because they were lost behind the background of your shirt.

Also, and this is just my opinion but I would refrain from adding the stylized video effects in future videos. Those type of effects were in style in the late 90's and in the early 2000's. Just watch The System from Dan and Dave and you'll see what I mean. These type of effects are not used today and it was the one element that took a lot out of your video.

Instead, I would have shot from different angles, get a full profile shot that includes your face to showcase your personality, or even some close up shots to showcase the cards and your flourishes.

Anyways I hope that helps and I'm looking forward to seeing your next video.

Apr 22, 2015
Overall it's a very good start and it inspires me to even push harder to the point when I'm ready to cut my first video.

Your moves are on point, style of music fit your video, and the video cuts were done well.