Beginners Magic DVD

Apr 20, 2010
I started learning magic and prestidigitation with books and eventually moved on to downloadable videos, but I've recently made friends with a younger boy who wants to try card magic. I taught him two self-working basic tricks, thinking he would be dissuaded with learning and more interested in just doing, but he really enjoyed learning and wasn't at all agitated. He persevered and has gotten those tricks to a point where he can do them well. I pointed him towards Dan and Dave's academy videos for learning basic card handling to look more proficient with cards while I get him some proper material to work with. I gifted him my book copy of Royal Road, and though we went through a few pages of it, I realized that it was hard for him to comprehend instructions from text and few pictures. I guided him few a few basic things, but think that he would benefit far more from a basic magic DVD. I haven't purchased a magic DVD that covers many beginner topics ever. The purchases I make are for more advanced techniques or gimmicked tricks.

I know there is a Royal Road DVD set, but I wanted to ask your guys' opinions on newer products since you are more up to date with these things than I. I'm not looking for moves one might find on Foundations, just some quick tricks that teach essential techniques to a beginner.

I know ellusionist makes specific beginner crash courses, but I've not heard excellent things about them. There don't seem to be beginner DVDs that cover things like Royal Road might on Theory11. The beginner DVDs here seem to be more for flourishing, which I think should be an afterthought after learning, say, a proper DL.

Thanks for reading my rambling thoughts and getting it this far. Please let me know of any good video material is for beginners that you know of. Price isn't really a big deal as long as it's not too bad because I wanted this to be an early Christmas gift for him.

Apr 20, 2010