First ever performance

Oct 4, 2011
Hi guys,

dont know if this is totally pointless, but I've been practicing magic and cardistry for perhaps 4/5 months, and I was wondering how successfull people here were on there first performance, I dont mean with family. but friends, school work etc. I always struggle to stay dead cool when doing anything at school with people looking over etc, but i normally nail it with family after a few weeks practice. Anyway, how did it go for you guys first time around?

By the way if this thread has already been created somewhere else by someone asking the same question, kindly link me to it, much appreciated.

1) Don't perform magic unless someone's interested or asks you to.
2) Don't perform unless you know your material INSIDE-OUT. Watch your vocal tone and pitch when performing any sleight. You'll see why.
3) Find a style that suits you and stick to it. (Drop "I'm going to read your mind" bull**** from the start.)

If you NEVER break these three rules you will feel "yourself" while performing for a nice, heckler-free audience.

By the way, I don't think I remember my first performance. I suppose it was some "out of this world" version, performed like ****, from my current point of view.

Last edited by a moderator:

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH