Kid's magic

Hey guys, I would really like to start working professionally but i think because of my age (17) i won't be able to get anything other then kids parties. Which i don't really have any problems with, but I don't really do kids magic.

So i'm looking for suggestions for tricks, routines, sources or even just books on performing. Anything would help.

Thanks and much appreciated
-Anthony

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
Kids shows are more difficult than you think. I've been performing for kids for over 10 years and they are a completely different animal than performing for adults.

I would look at routines from Tommy James, David Kaye (Silly Billy), David Ginn, and Marty Hahne.

Each age group of kids tend to enjoy various types of effects. You would not perform the same magic for ages 4-6 year olds that you would for 8-11.

Let me see if I can dig up a few of our old kids magic threads to see what I can find for you because I know we've discussed kid show magic numerous times on here.

Reality One who frequents here as well as being a mod over at E is well versed in Kids Magic as well.

Jun 13, 2013
Germany
That's a very interesting topic for me as well as I am trying to achieve the same thing in 1 year. Thanks Rick for you post. I will contact David and see if he can help us.

Thanks Rick, very informative and helpful. I watched videos of all the names you threw out (a lot of talet there) And while i loved some of the tricks I think someone my age doing that kind of presentation seems very...fake i guess would be the best word.

I'll keep thinking on how i could present them.

My specific question would be are the props worth the money? i think some are necessary for a kids act but they all run quite pricy and i'm fairly inept at building things so that's out. But i would like some sort of colorful, flashy prop/effect.

Anyway thanks a lot.

May 21, 2014
Staunton, VA