Magic DVDs

lance_amini

Elite Member
Jun 22, 2008
Bahrain
hello
i'm new to magic i want a DVD or name of tricks that i can perform on the streets without any set up or atleast simple sit up

Sep 1, 2007
England
how new to magic are you? some advise, i would practice the magic for a long time before you start performing...

With respect, I think you would struggle to be more wrong.

The buzz of performing and the enjoyment you get from the experience is what drives you to keep practicing and bettering yourself. I know this is true for me and many others too. Doesn't matter if you mess up some of your early performances. You're bound to mess up some time anyway.

I say practice a few simple tricks, maybe learn an easy force and plant a duplicate card in your wallet or something and have some fun!

As for your question, check out Royal Road to Card Magic, Card College (which is better if you can afford it) Card College Light (all self-working card tricks, but fantastic ones). Also worth looking into, Close-up Card Magic by Harry Lorayne.

Tom

Mar 20, 2008
Indiana
the reason i said what i said about practicing was that if he is serious about magic, he doesn't want people to "catch" him in the act of performing the trick and then they won't be as interested because they will know how "it" is done........this is just my opinion. i see all over the web about how you shouldn't just learn a trick half a** and then go perform it like you are a pro..

Sep 1, 2007
England
you shouldn't just learn a trick half a** and then go perform it like you are a pro..

This may be true, but he can perform as a beginner, he does not need to perform as a pro.

I know I messed up a lot in my earlier peformances, and if anything, it helped me.

I'm not saying he should learn the first card he finds and then start taking bookings. But I do strongly feel that he will greatly enjoy the experience of showing a few tricks he's taken the time to learn to his friends and family.

Tom

Mar 20, 2008