Mentalists Here

Sep 1, 2007
actually...yesterday i performed a mentalism effect where the person has their hand out and they ''feel'' me touch the palm of their hand. It kind of freaked me out that they felt it. Another person was watching and their jaw was on the floor..they freaked out. lol

Sep 9, 2007
I do a bit of cold reading on occasion for fun. look for kenton knepper's "completely cold" probably the best and shortest book ever.

Sep 3, 2007
I too am a huge fan of mentalism, but am having trouble finding strong techniques on suggestion etc. Ive been reading up on cold reading and have been really enjoying that aswell!

Aug 31, 2007
Hartford, CT
Believe it or not, the best book I've read on suggestion is Derren Brown's "Tricks of the Mind". He goes into an explaination of hypnosis and suggestion without all the "esp, pseudo-science" nonsense.

Sep 2, 2007
London
Professionally, I'm a salesman, so I'm really interested in the whole persuasion and influence thing. As far as I've found, the best sources for ideas on suggestion and "subliminal" influence that could be applied to magic are Richard Bandler & John Grinder's "Trance-formations" & their "Patterns of the Hypnotic Techniques of Milton H Erickson"). Or for something more specifically magic-based, Kenton Knepper's Wonder Words CDs and accompanying workbook are good. Although, as OwnerM says, Derren Brown's "Tricks of the Mind" is a good basic introduction, as is "Building Blocks" by Luke Jermay and "Sleight of Mind" by Ian Harling & Martin Nyrup.

Personally I don't do any structured suggestion-based routine, but I occasionally do stuff like making people forget their name, imagining a card to be a different one and that kind of thing, which, when you learn the fundamentals of suggestion and have a bit of practice, are fairly simple to pull off.

Sep 4, 2007
Kansas City