My First Gig

Jul 26, 2008
I finally have my first gig, and let me tell you, I'm excited. More so that I think I've ever been, but I'm terrified. This is my first gig, and even though I've been performing for about three years now, I have no idea as to what I'm getting into, as it's my first time. I was asked to do some strolling magic during a large new years eve party at a local restaurant. I have a routine planned that the owners loved, but I'm still worried. I know I have to buck up, and just perform, (Which I plan on doing) but if anyone has any advice that they think would be helpful I'd love to hear it.

Mar 29, 2008
This is a hard one to advise on, because anything I say will be a piece of a larger tapistry.

I guess I will tell you things that I wish someone said to me when I did my first gig.

1 - Don't be nervous, use that nervous energy and turn it into confident energy that shows you love magic.

2 - Try to imagine what the show will be like - think about how the effects will play, and link to another.

3 - Try to pack small, but be able to play big. Limit effects that time long set up. I sometimes keep a small pouch hidden by the bar, or under a table, that allows me to reset my pockets quickly with new material or already set things that take long reset.

4 - Listen and learn - performing is a growing and learning experience - plan on 3 mistakes and how you will handle them. Listen to the audience for their feedback. Don't take yourself too seriously.

5 - Most importantly, have fun. This is why you practice!

Jul 26, 2008
I want to start by saying thanks for the advice, and anything anyone else has to say would be eagerly received.

I've got a simple coins and cards routine set up, so it's light. The only thing I'm going to need a refill on are napkins, and dupes of a few cards, both of which are going to be behind the bar, and in the track leading to the kitchen, so that no matter where I am I can quickly grab what I need.