Practice Partner

Nov 5, 2007
Benicia, CA
I've been working with cards on and off for about 4 years or so (mostly off). Because of my lack of practice, I'm still a total beginner. Most of my friends are spread out (10-20 minute drive out of town) and none are into card magic. So I practice alone. I think I'm suffering from this, cause I'm not getting any feedback on where and how to improve, and I'm not building any confidence in my skills through playing to a regular practice audience. I'm wondering if I should breakdown and ask my wife to be my practice audience. It would cetainly spoil the tricks for her, as she'd see all my flaws. I'm totally torn over this.

My goal is to build enough skills to wow by buddies at poker night now and then, and to entertain my men when I deploy (I'm in the Marine Corps Reserves). I'd like to be able to show off to my wife as well, but... I need a practice partner/audience.

How do others out there practice tricks? Do you talk to yourself practicing your patter? Do you just go through the motions setting a selected card or whatever on a flat surface to simulate somebody holding a card? Should I solicit my wife's help and expose her to my moves?

Sep 1, 2007
Canada
Same with me i have friends but they dont do magic and i am the only kid at my school who does magic but what i do is that i video tape my self doing a flourish or trick and i watch it.So it seems that i am watching my self preforming.I feel like a spectator too!!:D

Oct 24, 2007
Practice

Using a mirror is a good suggestion. Problem is, you get used to looking in a mirror instead of performing for an actual spectator. Also, you concentrate on two things at once so you might miss something.