Starting In Flourishing

Jun 2, 2008
Ive been trying to start in flourishing for a while, but I cant find anything that will go from the basics to the advanced stuff. I have got D+M Dangerous and System, Dangerous is good ive learnt one flourish from there which is a quite simple, cant name it right at this seconds cos im not too good with names but its the one where it goes on ure hand, you throw it up onto the pack then do the same thing on a fan.

As for the system, i cant realy learn anything from this, the dvd realy bores me as it is totaly silent thoughout the whole thing.

I want something that actualy talks me through the flourishes and the moves uses rather than just trying to pick it up from watching it in slow motion.. any reccomendations, I will probablu spend up to about £50 if it does what i need it to do.

Jun 10, 2008
You little stalker!
Well i personally dont have the system but i do know alot about it. I suggest you start with Pasteboard Animations, a little home video that dan and dave made in 2000. It has talking in it, and it teaches some of the easier cuts on the system (genesis, kryptonite, west coast chaos). I also suggest getting the trilogy. Although the whole set if most likely above what you said you would spend on it (sorry i'm not familiar with ur kind of money), you coudl always just buy the Flourishes DVD if ur into that. Its got some very nice flourishes and if you do get that, i suggest you start with the Molecule 4 and then you can go to akira and eko.

Hope that helps =)

Jul 14, 2008
Daniel Madison Dangerous and The System are for immediate cardistry and very hard to follow if you are a beginner. My advice for you: if you have The Trilogy, you can start disc 3 on Flourishes 101. You could learn revolution cut, sybil, and charlier in youtube and it will help you to learn on The System.

D

Deleted member 2755

I've heard this is an amazing book.