Table hopping tables

Aug 5, 2017
Greetings y'all fellow magicians, this is my first post here, not really sure if it's at the right place...

So, I have been doing some street magic for a few months now and really want to have my first restaurant gig. In the streets, I just walk up to people perform my stuff and get a few bucks, but in restaurants, people are on tables and I don't want to be invading their space, nor limiting myself to tricks that do not require tables (I would love for example to perform my twist on the cups and balls routine). What table should I get? What do you guys use? Any help from the more experienced ones is more than welcome!

obrienmagic

Elite Member
Nov 4, 2014
Orange County, Ca
www.obrienmagic.com
Hello! Thanks for the awesome question! This is one that there is no exact answer too, however, you should try to do a few things first:

1. Create a "table hopping routine"
2. Understand the flow of the restaurant
3. Understand how to approach a table

lets break these down 1 at a time!

1. Create a table hopping routine: Your routine should be:
-Very visual
-require little to no table space
-instantly reset
-to the point

You want to perform magic that will play well to a loud room who may not hear you. Restaurants can be quite loud sometimes. It also must be visual so everyone at the table can see it. Avoid performing on the table at all. 1. it may come off as "invading their space" especially if you need to move there drinks and plates out of the way. 2. they won't be able to see anything. Your routine should be to the point and last about 3-5 minutes max. Once finished your effects should be reset and ready to go so you don't have to hide in the back to reset after every table. This way you can hit as many tables as possible during your shift.