Tips for reading?

Sep 7, 2017
Hi! I've been doing magic for about six years. I've read Royal Road and Card College 1 & 2. I tried to read Expert Card Technique, but I find it difficult to read. Are there ways to make reading magic books easier? How should I read it? From beginning to end? Should I open up to a random page and start reading? What do you do?

Jan 26, 2017
Virginia
Pick a chapter, and read through one of the "technique" sections. Read it over a couple times if you need to, then try the move out with a deck (or atleast attempt it), so you actually understand what you're doing. Then move into the actual tricks part. Don't read it like a book, read it like a text book. Grab the important bits of info, and then go back if you need to.

Also, don't overwhelm yourself. 1 or 2 chapters on the day that you read it is probably good enough, unless you feel like you can easily move on.

Hey Ryan.

I see that you have started a new thread about a similar topic you posted before. I assume that instead of posting in your previous thread, you made a new one because you didn't find our tips to be helpful. So let me try again.

The last thing you want to do is to open up a magic book at a random page.

Do read it from beginning to the end, but TAKE YOUR TIME. Be patient. I usually finish a 150 page magic book in about a week. I read maybe one or two sections at a time. The material is not to be learned immediately. If you don't understand it, read it again and again and again. Do not skim. Be patient.

Reactions: Maaz Hasan
Sep 7, 2017
Pick a chapter, and read through one of the "technique" sections. Read it over a couple times if you need to, then try the move out with a deck (or atleast attempt it), so you actually understand what you're doing. Then move into the actual tricks part. Don't read it like a book, read it like a text book. Grab the important bits of info, and then go back if you need to.