Trick idea / combining trick elements

Feb 17, 2018
Hello all, so I've been sat thinking a lot about trying to create a trick, now it's not something I've just come up with but it takes elements / ideas from a couple tricks that I've taken interest in and wish to learn.

Just a basic overview of my idea uses the story trick (many stories but the same basic moves/premise) and an blank deck (not the invisible deck literally a blank deck of cards)
That can change to a normal deck at the end.

Now i do plan on getting these tricks to learn them in the future so I can figure it out for myself and how I want it to work (i am still fairly new to magic but i want to challenge myself)

As far as using ideas from other tricks what is the etiquette in the way of what can be used or naming who's trick you took the idea from? I.e if it's a minor element of the trick do you have to mention them?

Also what are tips that any of you can offer for creating a trick and the etiquette you use in creating them.

JoshL8

Elite Member
Aug 5, 2017
WA state USA
As far as using ideas from other tricks what is the etiquette in the way of what can be used or naming who's trick you took the idea from? I.e if it's a minor element of the trick do you have to mention them?

I would think that citing anyones work that influenced your trick would be the way to go, minor contribution or not. The devil is in the details so to speak. It can also help differentiate what exactly your contribution to the effect is.

Just a basic overview of my idea uses the story trick (many stories but the same basic moves/premise) and an blank deck (not the invisible deck literally a blank deck of cards)
That can change to a normal deck at the end.