Where to Start?

Aug 9, 2008
Hey I'm new to this site, and magic in general, and I was wondering if anyone had some tips on where to start? Does anyone have tips on how to practice (making sure people cant see you do certain moves) and does anyone have any tips on how to work on passes and double lifts?

Any help is appreciated in advance... thanks

May 24, 2008
Get The Royal Road To Card Magic, It is very inexpensive and has a goldmine of material.

May 22, 2008
Get The Royal Road To Card Magic, It is very inexpensive and has a goldmine of material.

I second that!! I am reading through it now and simply put, for card magic it is one of the best places to start out. I would also recomennd getting Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic. If you like coins, then definatly get Bobo's Modern Coin Magic: Another BIBLE for coin magic!!! Pick these up and practice! It will seem frustrating many moves are tough for me (as i am a beginner), but through practice and persistence any move can be done.

Good Luck!

Apr 9, 2008
Singapore
If you're a card guy, go for either Card College Volume 1-5 or The Royal Road To Card Magic.
If you're a coin guy, go for Bobo's Modern Coin Magic.
All these books are great investments.

Practice in front of a mirror to make sure that your angles are correct. Don't give up if you can't do a sleight, just keep practicing.

Here's a link for beginners: http://www.theory11.com/beginners.php Hope it helps.:)

Jun 20, 2008
I agree with everyone who has said Royal Road to Card Magic - you can probably get it for about eight bucks at a book store or even check it out of a library. Practice in front of a mirror and take it slow - better to do a couple of things well than to do a whole book's worth of material poorly :) (despite how much i try to remember this, i still catch myself falling into the same trap almost every day!)

You have a lot of great suggestions for material, so I'll answer your second question about practice.