Flourishing With a Point

Michael Kras

{dg} poet laureate / theory11
Sep 12, 2007
Canada
www.magicanada.myfastforum.org
Friends,

Today I had an interesting idea... however since I am just beginning to learn flourishes it is not a plot I can personally take on.

How about this: Combine flourishes with story. Tell some sort of story or poem and use flourishes to abstractly illustrate it in perfect balance and timing with the story itself.. use gentle flourishes for happy, warm moments and so forth. It would surely be a challenge, and if someone wishes to try it, I eagerly await it.

Whomever can effectively put this concept together, in fact, will receive a free copy of my manuscript for an effect that has been talked about for a while, "The Destiny Effect".

Michael

Sep 1, 2007
San Francisco, CA
I guess it's a decent idea, but I prefer to use flourishes to attract attention. I don't use them in performance that often.

And what's this 'Destiny Effect?' Has it really been talked about for a while? Damn, why don't I hear about these things?

David

Sep 1, 2007
Leicester, UK
www.youtube.com
I wouldn't say 'fishers' at all. More, people who were genuinely interested in the effect but were slightly confused as to exactly what they were being told. Y'know?

Along with the fact that a few people knew of other similar effects, they simply wished to know whether yours was at all similar etc.

Of course you're going to get some fishers, that's bound to happen at some point, people get an idea and they want to see if they're right about that path. Who knows.

All I'm sayin' is that everything just needs clearing up by someone with a level-head (not saying that you don't) and who can comment on the effect without being that "good friend" or "complete random 'new-to-card-magic-but-wanted-a-powerful-effect'".