Performing: Under Pressure

Feb 18, 2011
Under your bed
Hey Everyone,

I've been doing card tricks for a few months, and I'm improving quite a bit..

Whenever I practice a trick that's quite hard It comes out good when I practice, I always practice a trick LOADS b4 im comfortable with performing it, I always look in the mirror, and practice it for few hours...

And Then I can get the trick great,, But when I want to show someone, I always get under pressure, and start shaking, and i just can't do it properly, :(

Is there anything, to help??

Any help is great thanks :)

Mar 6, 2008
A Land Down Under
It happens to the best of us. The only thing you can do is work at it, it will go away on its own. However a few ideas is to stand up straight and take a deep breathe. It will do wonders for you.

Jan 11, 2011
It's normal, so don't worry. And there are two things that you could use to help you with that. One is - practice even more, until it's really boring to you, and you could do it with closed eyes in the middle of the night. This will give a lot of confidence when under pressure. And second thing - get used to the fact that you're really getting better with the trick with every performance to the people. First few will be worse, once you've done it for people 10 times, 20 times, 100 times - you'll see the difference with comfort and confidence of your performance. So just give yourself time :)

Sep 1, 2007
do self working tricks for a little while, then move up and do one sleight tricks! It's a staircase but you can make it!

Ola

Jul 10, 2009
Lillestrøm, Oslo, Norway
I've got two tricks I'm comfortable performing, and that's because I got good patter for it!
One of them is the first trick I ever learned - the triumph.

You know how they always say a heckler took your cards and mixed them?