Food For Thought

Aug 1, 2009
I was able to listen to a interview with Joshua Jay the other day and he answered a question and his response really made me think. He said that magic today has had a influx of creators. Which is very true and is also very good in my opinion. But at the same time we are losing so many performers. Everyone is worried about creating or performing to a camera on youtube and not to real people. I feel like the spread of magic and the art of performing has gone down hill even since I've been it. Which has only been about 7 years, and I am no expert at all on this. I was just wondering what everyone elses thoughts on the subject was. Thanks!

Jul 13, 2008
I definitely agree with you. While I somewhat see the appeal of creating a magic video for youtube to get critique, I don't think it's right when that's all a magician does. Like every other talent, magic is meant to be shown to other people and not just kept to yourself or kept between other magicians. I'm starting to perform more often, and I hope other magicians will do the same. Otherwise, magic will become a dead art form.

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
I would have to agree with that because I think everyone wants to become "the next big thing" and see their creation hit the market like Calen's Dresscode did. It is easy for us to sit behind keyboards and monitors, but it takes guts to actually get out there in the trenches and perform for live people full knowing that you could make a mistake. I guess I just get more appreciation when I know I am out there making someone else's day special and sharing my magic.