Remember why you are here.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been a member of this forum for many years now, and although I took a magic hiatus for 2 years, I still read it at times.

One things i've noticed is that people take themselves really seriously on here.
Everyone is trying to prove they are better than the other, or more witty than the other, or perhaps more intelligent than their forum counterpart.

It turns simple exchanges of opinion on a subject, into this crazy internet argument where someone will take
an extract of a comment and pick it apart.

Being a member of this forum should not be a competitive sport, we don't need to be so harsh and abrupt with people. We can make jokes, we can share material, we can help others out.... there is no trophy for knowing more, or being better here.

When I was a beginner nobody would help me, members of magic societies are selective in what they teach you, as they don't want you taking their local business.
I turned to the internet to teach me, and it introduced me to a lot of things.

Let's stop taking ourselves so seriously, everyone has an opinion, and being able to deconstruct it isn't as worthwhile as sharing your own opinion.
Everyone's different, everyone performs differently, likes different material, learns differently.

I think it's time we stop moaning about 'youtube magicians' posting on these forums, and help them become great magicians.
Or at least that's my goal..... growing up on a rough estate here in the UK, nobody was there to help me progress, and I want to change that.

Let's all change that. We've got the collective knowledge of a master. So let's use it. That's why i'm here. Do you remember why you joined?

-Geraint

Sep 1, 2007
Porthcawl, Wales.
Let's stop taking ourselves so seriously, everyone has an opinion, and being able to deconstruct it isn't as worthwhile as sharing your own opinion.

-Geraint