Learning what was left out of the book or video.

I have been learning magic for 2 years now. I have quite a few DVD's and books. What I have noticed is most books or DVD's seem to leave out the information not related to the method of the trick.

I don't understand why it is acceptable for an author to simply say "misdirect audience while doing the pass" or "patter here about ...." I consider the patter and the misdirection to be as much a part of the tricks as the method.

Can someone advised me of some books for people just beyond beginner cardmen yet include effects, patter, & misdirection?

Jul 13, 2010
I don't understand why it is acceptable for an author to simply say "misdirect audience while doing the pass" or "patter here about ...."
Because this is very personal and is different for every magician. It`s also the reason why explanations of sleights are not always given. Too much variations exist and which you use is a personal choice and often depends on your character/style etc. The same goes for presentation and misdirection. It is adequate for a comedy magician to misdirect with jokes. But a more serious magician who tries to make jokes the whole time appears odd.

Can someone advised me of some books for people just beyond beginner cardmen yet include effects, patter, & misdirection?
Card College 5. He describes everything in the most fussy way I`ve seen. Except most of the sleights. He refers to CC 1 - 4 for the sleights.

If you would like some awesome books that will teach you a wealth of information about misdirection, audience management, and just great ways to improve your magic beyond the tricks, Tommy Wonder's Books of Wonder are great!

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
I don't understand why it is acceptable for an author to simply say "misdirect audience while doing the pass" or "patter here about ...." I consider the patter and the misdirection to be as much a part of the tricks as the method.