Acme Hole

JPS

Dec 21, 2016
Now i wasn't expecting much when buying a 9$ download off of ellusionist however what resulted afterwards was the most discouraging 2 and a half hours of my career in magic.

There's a hole in this playing card! NO! You can peel off the hole. Was it ever really there? Who knows. Whether or not you think the performance looks alright on instagram is totally overshadowed by the glaringly obvious, loud, obnoxious to construct, obnoxiously time consuming gimmick.

There are plenty of effects just like Acme that time and time again draw me in and always leave me disappointed.

In the 45 minute download Lloyd himself constantly says "Im not very good at doing this", "I rarely make it this way", "That doesnt match up very well" and worst of all

"Once you see it its very hard to 'un-see'".

Which is probably the worst thing you could say on your instructional video. If the gimmick design is glaringly obvious once you notice it, it isnt a good gimmick. Without giving too much away, depending on the materials you use not only are you going to have issues with shadows because of one part of the gimmick, but also glare from another material. There's also a lot of tension you need to hold which really starts to wear on your thumb.

When you do the "Move" the bloody thing is loud. Like really loud.

Im not sure if i "Constructed" my gimmick with too much "Construction force" that makes it "Motion" in a certain way that creates the noise, but even on the video you can hear Lloyds gimmick snapping.

So what you're left with is a gimmick that has obvious cuts, even if you spent a long time making sure its perfect, by the nature of the effect you cant seem to hide your lines.

To give Lloyd some credit, at least he has a few good tips on switching out the gimmick, if they dont catch you in the performance you at least have some good misdirection to ditch your gimmick.