I'm extremely curious about something (mentalism related)

Jul 1, 2017
Hi guys!

I'm brand new here - I've been reading for ages, just waiting for a reason to post! I apologise in advance for the lengthy post.

I've been learning card magic for about 9-10 months now. I've built up a fair amount of base knowledge and can do quite a few tricks convincingly and comfortably.

HOWEVER! What I've been dying to begin studying, is the art of Mentalism. I have been looking around for ages for the best place to start and am aware of 13 Steps, Practical Mental Magic etc, but the main subject I want to delve into is how to gather information, such as what Derren Brown used to do on the old morning shows where he gets someone to think of anything at all and he just plucks the thought out of their head.

Derren's website recommends learning the FACS and body language reading techniques. I have purchased and read a couple of Dr Ekman's books on facial expressions and, admittedly, only "What Every Body Is Saying" by Joe Navarro regarding body language. Nothing in the books I have read, however, actually sheds any light on gathering information (other than emotional response), and this is my main motivation for learning Mentalism.

While I would be very grateful for any references anyone may have for the above, my main question is this (and may be laughable, but alas): Is the abovementioned type of revelation actually possible as an impromptu "reading", or is there pre-show work and other trickery involved that I'm unaware of?

Sorry if I haven't made my very question very clear, I would be happy to clarify further if anyone is interested in helping me out :)

Thanks very much!

Jacko

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
There's a very important thing you need to know when it comes to Derren Brown - He lies.