Backpalm

May 10, 2018
This is going to sound stupid and make me seem like I'm so new to magic and know nothing about it, but anyways

I've learnt a lot of sleights, moves, tricks etc in my time doing magic, but one thing I could literally never get down is the backpalm. Yeah, it probably sounds stupid because it's really simple to most of you but for some reason (I can do the movement right, and get it behind my hand all fine) but it always pokes out at my pinky finger. Any help? I've been trying to get it for so long but can't, and I couldn't find anything to help me out

Thanks

May 10, 2018
What source have you used to learn from?
I can't remember the original book, but I remember that I couldn't get it down so I started to look online (forums etc) for tips but couldn't find anything to prevent the card being exposed at my pinky.

Any tips you may have would help out a lot :)

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
I'm not an expert on the back palm, and a lot of manipulators used cards that kind of matched the skin tone of their hand in order to work around that particular issue. However, Dan Sperry has (Or at least had) a decent instructional video here on T11 for basic card manipulations and I believe he covered the back palm pretty well.

Mostly it's a matter of how you end up gripping the the card before the vanish. If you put your knuckles at the corners of the card before squeezing down to get the grip, with a more significant bow in the card, it should help reduce how much it shows beside the pinky.

Reactions: MagicCalls2000
May 28, 2018
Saint Louis, MO
Backpalming is something that I do while reading a book, since I use cards as bookmarks. I never actually use it, except as a goof sometimes, but out of mindless repetition I have gotten pretty good at it.