Can I have advice on how to deal with annoying people?

Dec 5, 2015
Hi, I have been practicing close up card magic for four years now. I know from the audience point of view my moves are clean. But every time I perform at my high school or in the general public I always have that one person in the crowd who either says whats going to happen or just blabber out the secret of the trick. I've tried ignoring them in my performance but sometimes they will just volunteer themselves and pick a card even though someone else was my volunteer. Currently I would do a deck switch from my regular to a marked deck and perform for the annoying one. But sometimes that isn't enough to keep them quiet.

Could I have some advice to deal with these sort of people?

Jan 31, 2017
Unfortunately, the same performances that draw in the curious, also attract the clownshoes. It can be extremely frustrating, but think about it like this: they are no different than hecklers during a comedy set. Thinking on your feet, and showing them (and the more considerate onlookers) that what they are doing isn't going to get to you, can turn these situations around. Their butting in may be them masking their own interest in what you're doing. It could be jealousy for the attention you're being shown. Who knows what drives a heckler. What's important is that you remain confident. Make a joke. Call them out for being rude. Do something involving them, and move on like it doesn't phase you. As far as folks calling out your tricks, try creating some more personal versions. Use the skills you've built from all that practice, and apply them to your life. If someone recognizes the patter of a magician they've seen on tv or YouTube, they're gonna make that connection right away. Magic is much more popular than it was a few years ago. That's cool, but it also means that the layman is a little wiser to the tricks. Your speech can be a strong tool of misdirection. Use it to your advantage. Good luck.