Artist: Victor Sanz

Producers: SansMind Creative Lab

Link: Available At Your Favorite Murphy’s Magic Dealer

Demo Video Link:

Retail Price: $29.99 USD

Learning Difficulty: Easy

Length of DVD: 19 Minutes (Approx.)

Notes: Some Assembly Required

I love haunted effects. Ever since I was little I’ve ben enthralled by ghost stories and the spooky paranormal stuff. One of my favorite card effects is the Haunted Deck, so when I saw the demo video for the self flipping notepad I knew I had to give it a try. The only thing left haunting me was seeing that it was SansMind that was putting it out. SansMind usually means creative crafting, and I’m not very good at arts and crafts. Having tried to build several of their gimmicks for previous reviews I don’t have the best of track records with this kind of thing. However, it’s a note pad right? How bad can it be? I was about to find out.

The effect is versatile. You could play it as a haunted effect, or you could go more strait mentalism with it and have it be some kind of psychokinetic control. Or you can present it like they do in the demo video and leave the how or why the pages are flipping themselves as an understatement to you being able to pry their thoughts out of their mind. Either way, the spectator writes a word or a name, maybe draws a picture, and you tell them what they wrote. Then the pad flips itself open to the page they wrote on, and they get to keep that page as a souvenir.