Have a magic mentor. Good? Bad? Necessary?

Dec 4, 2016
Mallorca
voylinux.com
Hello magic brothers.

I am a beginner and would love to know your opinion about a topic wich has been in my mind for weeks.

Do you think every magician should find a mentor? I love learning from books and yes, also videos, but from time to time I think ... how to know if you are progressing correctly or are on the good way?

What do you think, people? Do magicians need a mentor.

I have seen places online where people get a kind of support community such as Jay Sankeys' "Inside deception", but as Jay seems to be such a polemic figure in magic... I have my doubts.

DominusDolorum

Elite Member
Jul 15, 2013
Canada
I began with a mentor but we parted ways due to unrelated reasons. He also had a different perception of magic than I did.

I personally would love to have a mentor again. To be able to sit down with a seasoned professional to discuss magic and presentation is something I am severely lacking. My dream mentor is Eugene Burger. And Max Maven. And Jeff McBride. And Michael Ammar. And Michael Vincent. Okay, I'll stop...David Copperfield.

But to answer your answer your question more directly I don't think it's absolutely necessary for a magician to have a mentor. I believe some of the old Masters were "self-taught" from books like Dai Vernons' attraction to Erdnase at a young age.

I am reminded of Ricky Jays' philosophy on this subject. That the best way to learn something is to have someone sit down and show it to you. Like the sensai-student relationship in the martial arts. There's a level of transmission that goes beyond just reading something in a book, or watching it on a DVD. I, of course, am paraphrasing that.

Point is, it's up to you. You may feel that you prefer learning things by yourself, or you may want to seek guidance from a mentor. I have done both and I have to say, I miss sitting down with someone to learn directly.

Reactions: pbernardo
Dec 4, 2016
Mallorca