Having trouble learning card spring

Jul 26, 2018
I'm very new to cardistry, and I'm trying to learn how to spring cards. I've watched several tutorial videos and have been practicing for a few days off-and-on, but I can't seem to get the hang of it. About halfway through the deck, I just can't spring the cards anymore. The videos I'm watching say that I need to release the pressure on the cards from my thumb, and that seems to go OK for about the first half of the deck.

When I get to the second half of the deck, it feels like there's not enough pressure left. The cards just get stuck in my hand. Am I meant to be applying more pressure as I spring the cards? I've tried doing that, but the cards just kind of launch out in one giant clump, rather than continuing to spring.

What am I missing?

CaseyRudd

Director of Operations
Team member
Jun 5, 2009
Charleston, SC
www.instagram.com
Hi Bill,

A couple of tips that helped me when learning how to spring the first time:

- The pressure you start with is essentially the same pressure you end with. It's supposed to be a single stream of cards at the same pressure from beginning to end. Work on keeping the same pressure throughout the entirety of the spring.

- Takes some trial and error, but you don't want to squeeze too hard to apply the pressure and you don't want too little pressure. It will take a bit of time to find that sweet spot but combine that with the next tip.