I am new

Mar 21, 2014
Hello, theory11 Community

I am new to this whole world of sleight of hand, cardistry, and magic. Throughout my life, I have often looked back and thought, "I wish I had known THAT when I began. It would have made this so much easier and I would be so much better/farther along!"

Therefore, I ask, what do YOU wish you had known, heard, seen, or experienced when you first started learning sleight of hand or cardistry?

I thank you for any feedback and will heed any advice.

Jake

Nov 24, 2013
Ok save yourself right now from doing what I did. When I started to learn magic I just went on YouTube and learned tricks from there and that's a bad idea in my opinion because instead of becoming a beginner in magic and slowly working up to be better, I started learning intermediate magic right away. Because of that I have to now work backwards and learn the beginner stuff and it's just weird. I'm fairly sure everyone else will say this too so I'll just say now, buy the book The Royal Road to Card Magic. I't the most helpful book for a beginner and should always be the first book a magician reads.

Sep 2, 2007
London