Opening for a band - freaked as hell

May 10, 2012
Heya, I've done a lot of shows in the past few years and now I'm doing something I've never done before: Open up for a band. It's in my home town and it was really a last minute invite for me. I got a call from my friend who's in the band and she said "Hey, how about you open for us? We're gonna need ten minutes to get stuff set so how about you do you're thing?"

Okay. I said yes and now I'm freaked out of my mind.

The thing is I've never done a venue like this where people are coming to hear music and not really see magic. Plus I'm gonna be doing my new show. It's basically stand-up so I'm good there but I just don't know how the audience will take it.

Any advice guys?

yyyyyyy

Elite Member
Apr 7, 2012
Try not to let them intimidate you too much. They're just people after all. If you hype up the crowd too much it'l be hard to keep your cool. Just do what you know works

Blaziken

Elite Member
Sep 8, 2012
Quebec, Canada
twitter.com
First of all, try to relax. Like Pav says, don't let em intimidate you, make a little introduction of your act. And try to do some routine including people, if there's girls, take the hottest one to help you or something and that will attract the attention to what you are doing because if the girl. In résumé, just calm down and interact with the crow. Good luck buddy!

Oct 13, 2012
Lithuania
They will come to listen to music, not for magic. But is that a problem?? Have you seen many people who don't like magic? I guess no. Just introduce yourself so the crowd knows what to expect and then perform what you know will amaze people and what you can perform successfully even if nervous. You say you've done shows in the past, so I think you will do it well, just relax and remember that
1) you have been practicing for a long time.
2)most people are not familiar with magic at all.
3) If you flash smth, audience will probably see nothing (if it's not a huge fail).