Russian roulettes and Bullet Catch

Sep 17, 2023
Hello everyone! My name is Misha, and I'm a circus artist from Europe. I love to astonish people and give them bright emotions. I want to make my show even more shocking. I'm looking for tricks like "Russian roulette" or "Catching a bullet with my teeth." I would appreciate any information. If someone manufactures equipment for these tricks, I'm ready to buy it or simply get information.

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
To be sure we're on the same page, a clarification of terms:
Russian Roulette - also called Smash and Stab. A number of opaque containers are used, such as cups or bags, and one has an apparent danger in it, usually a spike or otherwise pointy object. The containers are smashed one at a time, hopefully eliminating all but the dangerous one.

Note - this routine is, to my knowledge, banned from the Magic Castle due to how many people have messed it up and hurt themselves or others.

Bullet Catch - an object is launched at high velocity towards the performer, who is miraculously able to catch it, usually either in the teeth or hand. I've seen everything from actual guns to pennies launched with leaf blowers. There's one product that's a mini canon. Several performers of the bullet catch have died performing the trick.

There's a lot of things you need to consider when looking at these plots/routines.

First - how much danger are you willing to accept for yourself? Note, I do not mean how much danger will the audience think you're in, I mean what is the chance that you actually hurt yourself?

Personally, I will not generally put myself in real danger.

Second - how much do you want to worry about consumables? Some routines require more stockpiling than others.

Third - what are you actually trying to accomplish?