Using the "wrong" hand

Mar 21, 2011
Hey

I'm relatively new to magic, only discovered this wonderful site yesterday and I'm hooked onto it now... In the past, I learnt moves like the classic pass, charlier cut, swing/pivot false cuts etc from YouTube videos, but I realised recently that even though I'm right handed, I do everything with my left...

For example, with the classic pass, every video I've seen (right handed) does the move with their left, and the right is just there to lift the deck. Also when springing the deck, I find it impossible to use my right hand, but find it fairly easy with the left.

So before learning more sleights etc, should I work to "correct" this "wrong" mindset of using the left hand? Or doesn't it matter either way?

Cheers

The only problem with using the left hand is that when you display the cards the spectators won't be able to see the pips. You could go to your local magic shop and buy some 'lefty' decks.

I think it would be quite difficult to switch to performing with your right hand.

XabierL

Elite Member
Aug 14, 2010
I'm right handed, and I perform EVERYTHING with my left hand... But I dont have any problem with fanning, since cards are on the left hand!

I'm also right handed, yet I deal from the left.... However, I overhand shuffle the opposite way... I just taught myself like that... I don't believe that there is a "wrong" hand. You can look at Bill Malone; for instance, he handles cards left handed and it seems to work for him. The only problem I've ever run into is that some gaffs don't necessarily work for lefties. It happens. I either don't do the effect or I work my own handling. Books are sometimes hard to read also because I have to reverse the directions most of the time. You'll get used to it though.