What is Magic Today?

GarethNg

Elite Member
Oct 14, 2011
Hey guys,

There are a lot of personal thoughts I have on magic and where it is today.

I have been doing magic and cardistry for about 4 years now and I am now quite good at performing. I have progressed and actually seen my progression. Here's the problem. I have a friend at school who recently got into magic and cardistry too because of my influence. I liked the idea of having someone else to relate to instead of talking to someone who has no idea about anything. Anyway, now I regret the idea of trying to get him into magic and here is why: Every time he performs, he does it in a way that completely destroys the point of magic. He doesn't really entertain through his performance but rather through his sleights. And what drives me even crazier is that he can barely do things before he performs them. I have pointed this out but he doesn't listen to me and continues to find more and more effects. He is very overwhelmed by all the material that is available and also ruins it for me. For example, I have worked on my Clip Shift for about 2 years now and it is very fluid and nearly silent. I know the angles and I don't ever flash. When he does it, he almost always flashes and after performing, proceeds to reveal how it's done. I would try helping him but here's the catch:

He didn't even buy the DVD. He never buys DVDs but he downloads them illegally. This really saddens me because I know there are many artists out there who rely on these sales.

If this is how magic is now, what will it be like in 20 years time? Or will magic even exist?

Please post any thoughts/ ideas below.

Sep 10, 2008
QLD, AUS
Amateurs have existed in every field, artistic or not, since the beginning of time. It's not as big of a problem as you think.

Your main problem is that you're at school.