Where should I start with mentalism?

Apr 10, 2010
Hey guys its been forever sense I've been on the forums. Well I've been doing card magic for about 13 months now and I don't want to say I'm getting bored with it but I feel that the spectators that I perform for for a regular basis may be getting tired of the typical "Pick a card, lose it and find it". So I wish to broaden my horizons and wish to step into mentalism for my routines and performances. So with a little be of where I am and where I wish to go, Where should I start.

I'm looking good material, good books, dvds, lectures, theories, etc. Basically anything that would be good to start with. I greatly appreciate the help.

-Ninja G

Jan 5, 2010
Alabama
If you're spectators are getting bored with the 'Pick a card, lose it, find it routine" then you're performing for the same spectators way too much, or you haven't found great card material.

I'd pick up Harry Loryane's "Up-Close Card Magic" and study that.

As for mentalism, it's not really my forte but I own and enjoy 'PRISM' by Max Maven and 13 Steps to Mentalism by Corinda

There are threads(tons of them) on these forums not far from the 1'st page. A quick search will reveal them but what i want to say is this.