Remembering tricks

Oct 20, 2017
Belgium
Hey

i have been doing magic for the past 6 months now, in the summer vacation I wasn't home much so didn't play with the cards as much. But at mid september I started practicing a lot more and when som1 asked me to perform something I was surprised of how many things I forgot. This was not (only) from stress or something I just forgot a lot of the things I could do. How do you guys keep you're arsnenal big ?

CWhite

Elite Member
Jul 22, 2016
I'm still fighting to remember things... but that is due to years of alcohol abuse. My advice.. don't drink lol it ruins your memory big time.
Aside from that, from what the people have said on here.. practise a sleight or trick until it becomes second nature.. like tying your shoes.

Gabriel Z.

Elite Member
Apr 26, 2013
NY
www.youtube.com
I have my own personal system for remembering my tricks it's kind of like a memory palace but not quite...
I kind of like to think of it as the central trick being my Ambitious Card Routine and then everything sort of revolves around the three fundamental shuffles in card magic; Overhand, Riffle, and Hindu Shuffles. Then I have my pet effects such as Round and Round, Card to Pocket, Lightning Card etc... Tricks that will entertain. Now then I have the sleights that I am always working to improve such as Bottom Deal, Classic Pass, Up The Ladder...... And I pretty much go about my day in this little world of mine. Hope this helps :)

Reactions: wZEnigma

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
The best advice I can give here comes from Larry Jennings. Practice your magic in sets.

This means that when you practice lump a few tricks together. Have a beginning middle and end trick and practice then together.

I cut to the Aces then deal from the bottom and do an ace assembly. You might do Dr. Daley's last trick, oil and water, and out of this world.

Either way practice them together. This also helps you to prepare for the next trick way in advance.